Thesis prize

VSR Thesis Award ‘Law and Society’ 2019 (biannual)

The VSR Thesis Award is meant for a thesis or research report of the level of a master degree. It should be the result of a social scientific study or research on the subject Law and Society. The jury decides on the basis of the following criteria: originality, clear research method and apparent contribution to the knowledge and theory on law and society. The nominated study had to be finalised after September 2016 and before December 2018. (Theses and research reports of January 1, 2019 and later will be eligible for the VSR Thesis Award 2021.)

The VSR is an interdisciplinary association for the social scientific study of law. Over 150 active participants from The Netherlands and Belgium (Flanders) are involved in the inquiring of the social effect of law, the attitudes of people towards law and the legal system, the social circumstances and developments that effect the law, etc. Its membership includes lawyers, sociologists, anthropologists, psychologists, economists, historians, public administrators and criminologists. See (work in progress).

The prize will be awarded at the VSR conference January 16-17, 2020 in Nijmegen, The Netherlands. The prize consists of the sum of € 150, one year membership (including the journal Recht der Werkelijkheid (Living law), and the expenses of participating in the VSR Annual Conference 2020 (fee, diner and hotel).

The jury is composed of:
Koen van Aeken Ph D, associated professor, University Antwerpen
Agnes Schreiner LL.M, Ph D, visiting researcher, University of Amsterdam
Iris Sportel Ph D, researcher, Radboud University, Nijmegen

Have you conducted an empirical study or research on a subject of law and society for your master thesis or a comparable research report? Or, were you the supervisor of such a thesis or report? Authors, as well as supervisors, are invited to nominate the thesis or research report for the VSR Award.

Applications should be submitted by September 1, 2019. The digital version can be sent to the email address And the, preferably tree, hard copies can be submitted to the following address:

Agnes T.M. Schreiner
General Jurisprudence Depatment
Law Faculty UvA
PO Box 15654
1001 ND Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Former Award Recipients:
• 2000, Heidy Rombouts: De rol van het juridisch beroep in de Zuid-Afrikaanse Waarheidscommissie.
• 2002, Jellienke Stamhuis: Zelfregulering en de bedrijfscode.
• 2004, Roel Gerits: Restorative Justice in South African Townships.
• 2006, Elke van Hellemont: Ketens van heden, determinanten van de oververtegenwoordiging van Marrons in Surinaamse gevangenissen.
• 2008, Marc Simon Thomas: Brandnetels en boete, Rechtspluralisme en interlegaliteit in Ecuador.
• 2010, Silke Praagman: Verschillen in de rechtszaal geoorloofd? Een onderzoek naar de verhouding tussen de gedifferentieerde werkwijze van comparitierechters en de eisen die aan het proces van rechtspreken worden gesteld.
• 2012/13, niet uitgereikt.
• 2015, Carrie van der Kroon: ‘I write with the right’, The legal consciousness of Ngäbe migrant children between Panamá and Costa Rica and the vernacularization of the UN CRC.
• 2017, Anneloes Hoff: ‘Mobilising an Aspirational Constitution. The case of Colombia’s mining consultations’